Bard High School Early College Newark

Faculty

BHSEC Newark teachers are active in their fields of expertise and are dedicated to fostering adolescent learning. The faculty members are experienced college professors with a special interest in working with younger students; some come from high schools in Newark and others from colleges and universities.
Most faculty hold a Ph.D. in their field of study, and all full-time faculty are certified by the State of New Jersey. BHSEC Newark currently has 23 full-time faculty members.

Current Faculty

Melissa Alexis Faculty in Dance, B.A., Amherst College; M.F.A., Sarah Lawrence University malexis@bhsec.bard.edu
Scottye Battle Faculty in English and Special Education, B.A., California State University, Long Beach; M.A., Jersey City University sbattle@bhsec.bard.edu
Kate Beridze Faculty in Mathematics, M.S., Tblisi State University, Tblisi, USSR; Ph.D., Georgian Academy of Sciences, Tblisi, Georgia kberidze@bhsec.bard.edu
David Cutts Faculty in English, B.A., University of Warwick, England; M.A., Ph.D., University of Miami dcutts@bhsec.bard.edu
David Dowling Faculty in Health and Physical Education, B.S., Ithaca College; M.A., Adelphi University ddowling@bhsec.bard.edu
Seth Halvorson Faculty in History, B.A., Macalester College; M.A., Stanford University; M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University shalvorson@bhsec.bard.edu
Ena A. Harris Faculty in English, B.A., Eugene Lang College – New School University; Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo eharris@bhsec.bard.edu
Seth Ruggles Hiler Faculty in Visual Arts, B.F.A., Syracuse University; M.F.A., New York Academy of Art shiler@bhsec.bard.edu
Oluyinka O. Irukera Faculty in Biology, M.S., B.S., University of Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria; Ph.D., Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany oirukera@bhsec.bard.edu
William Kriegsman Librarian/Media Specialist & Faculty in English, B.A., Albright College; MLIS candidate, Rutgers University wkriegsman@bhsec.bard.edu
Michael L. Murray Faculty in English, B.A., George Mason University; M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.L.I.S., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey; A.M., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania mmurray@bhsec.bard.edu
Shilpi Nagarsheth Faculty in Mathematics, B.S., University of Houston; M.A., Ed.D. candidate, Teachers College, Columbia University snagarsheth@bhsec.bard.edu
Yitzhak Shnidman Faculty in Physics, B.S., Hebrew University, Israel; M.S., Ph.D., Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel yschnidman@bhsec.bard.edu
Lance D. Silverman Faculty in Chemistry, B.S., New York University; Ph.D., NYU-Polytechnic; Post-doctoral Research Associate, Columbia University lsilverman@bhsec.bard.edu
Victoria T. Siroy Faculty in Mathematics, B.S., Philippine Normal University; M.S., Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines; M.S., Kean University vsiroy@bhsec.bard.edu
Carla R. Stephens Faculty in History, B.A., Ph.D., Temple University cstephens@bhsec.bard.edu
Adam Tinter Faculty in Health and Physical Education, B.A., Ramapo College; M.A.T., Montclair State University atinter@bhsec.bard.edu
Biyuan Yang Faculty in Chinese, B.A., China Central University of Nationalities; M.S., University of Bridgeport; Ph.D., New York University byang@bhsec.bard.edu