Staff

Staff

Our staff are highly-qualified professionals who are dedicated to promoting student success. Our staff come from a range of professional backgrounds in the public and private sectors.


Our Staff

Anna Azeglio
Guidance Counselor & College Advisor
B.S., Criminal Justice John Jay College for Criminal Justice (CUNY); Ed.M Counseling Psychology Teachers College, Columbia University. MSED Administration and Supervision, Baruch College (CUNY). Mental Health Counselor (NYS Mental Health License). Co-authored chapter “Critical Thinking: A Socratic Approach to Empowering Your Mind,” published in Urban learners: Serious About College Success, September 1998.
Email: aazeglio@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x5261

Angela Ball 
Health Aide

Siska Brutsaert
Dean of Studies, BHSEC Manhattan
B.A., Cornell University; M.S., Kyoto University; Ph.D., Columbia University-Integrated Program in Cellular Molecular Biophysics; Post-doctoral Fellow, Pasteur Institute in Paris, France. Research interests include molecular immunology, signal transduction mechanisms, and epigenetic control of gene regulation.
E-mail: sbrutsaert@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x4072

Beth Cheikes
College Transfer Officer Director 
Email: bcheikes@bhsec.bard.edu
Phone: 212-995-8479 x2092

Sara Haberman
Assistant Principal, Pupil Personnel Services
B.A., Gettysburg College, Psychology; MA., New York University; Counseling Psychology; MSW., New York University, Social Work. Earned LCSW credential in 2005. Worked as a school counselor at Stuyvesant High School and Chelsea High Schools.  Over 18 years of experience providing counseling, college and academic advising services to adolescents.
Email: shaberman@bhsec.bard.eduPhone: 212-995-8479 x4221

William H. Hinrichs
Dean of Academic Life, Bard Early Colleges
A.B., Princeton University; Ph.D., Yale University. Has taught at St. Mark’s School, the Taft School, Yale University and BHSEC Queens. Publications include The Invention of the Sequel: Expanding Prose Fiction in Early Modern Spain (2011). Teaching and research interests include literature and culture of 16th- and 17th-century Spain, flash fiction, and concepts of authorship and authorial property.
Email: whinrichs@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x4071

Dilara Khan
Para Professional

Christian Skelly
Technical Director
Email: cskelly@bhsec.bard.edu

Michael Lerner
Principal, BHSEC Manhattan
B.A., Columbia University; Ph.D., New York University. Has taught at Barnard College, NYU; New School University; and Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota. Awards include Best Dissertation in Urban History, Urban History Association. Publications include Dry Manhattan: Prohibition in New York City (2007). Teaching and research interests include 20th-century United States society and politics, American reform movements, popular culture, and U.S.-Pacific relations. Email: mlerner@bhsec.bard.eduPhone: 212-995-8479 x2282

Mark A. Williams Jr.
Director of Access, Equity, & Inclusion Programs; Health Faculty
A.A., Liberal Arts, Bard High School Early College Queens; B.A., Anthropology and Global Public Health, Bard College; M.S. Candidate, Community Health Education, Teachers College, Columbia University Has taught at courses on global and public health, the anthropology and biology infectious diseases, the social determinants of health and health disparities, and classes on the sociocultural implications of recent biotechnological advancements at Bard Queens, Bard D.C, most recently Bard College at Simon’s Rock the Early College. His research focuses on the biopolitics of neighborhood health and urban space, the biopedagogy of health education and the creation of “healthy” individuals, and the politics of care amongst young men of color who are HIV+. Currently preparing articles on the lack of urban ethnographies that focus on the experience of black individuals who are HIV+ or have AIDS in the United States, and the ethics of financial incentives for HIV testing and subsequent followup adherence.
E-mail: mwilliams@bhsec.bard.edu
Phone: 212-995-8479 x2043

Toni Rossi
School Secretary
E-mail: trossi@bhsec.bard.edu

Pat Pecoraro
Nurse

Kristi Powell-Grenfell
Student Activities and Special Projects Coordinator
Email: kpowell@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x2093

Zoe Powers (Noyes)
Registrar, Data Manager & Foreign Language Faculty
A.A., Bard High School Early College; B.A. Bard College; M.A. Johns Hopkins University and Nanjing University. Has taught at Bard High School Early College Newark. Teaching and research interests include Chinese language instruction, Chinese history and literature, international relations, and urban education.
Email: zpowers@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x4075

Katherine Randall
Writing Center Coordinator B.A., Barnard College; M.S., Columbia School of Journalism. Worked as editor and writer at various publications and organizations before landing at BHSEC Manhattan.
Email: krandall@bhsec.bard.edu

Quincee Robinson
Director of Admissions
Email: qrobinson@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x2041

Carol Turitz
Parent Coordinator
Email: cturitz@bhsec.bard.edu

Yuriy Zavlanov
Science Lab Manager B.S., Queens College (CUNY), Chemistry; M.A., Queens College (CUNY), Chemistry. Over 8 years of chemistry, organic chemistry and biochemistry laboratory experience.
Email: yzavlanov@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x3031

Nancy Zdazenski
Purchasing and Payroll Secretary 17 years experience at American Express as a Process Manager responsible for Amex’s computers inventory.  7 years at IBM managing Account computer inventory at American Express.
Email: nzdazenski@bhsec.bard.edu Phone: 212-995-8479 x2233